The Gathering Souvenirs 2X Vinyl Lp

  • Sale
  • $29.99
  • Regular price $32.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This edition of 'Souvenirs' is presented on double gatefold vinyl, with four bonus tracks. The Gathering is a Dutch alternative rock band and was founded in 1989 by brothers Hans and René Rutten and vocalist Bart Smits. The early incarnation of the band featured a much more death and doom metal based style than the more atmospheric rock and experimental music which they became known for over the years, having enjoyed a highly successful career globally to date. The band recorded 2 demos initially before making their studio debut with 'Always... ' (1992). 'Souvenirs' was the band's seventh studio album, & was originally released on 24 February 2003 through their own independent label, Psychonaut Records, plus it was their first album since parting ways with Century Media. The album was recorded at E-Sound, Loud and A1 studio's during 2002 and 2003 under the guidance of producer Zlaya Hadzich. This time around The Gathering decided to embrace more of their gloomy trip-hop, electronic and jazz influences of the time, defining the results as 'trip-rock', while still featuring the unmistakably sublime tones of vocalist Anneke van Giersbergen. The album was also notable for containing a series of guests, including Kristoffer Rygg of Norwegian experimentalists Ulver, who supplied lyrics and vocals on 'A Life All Mine'.

1. "These Good People" Anneke van Giersbergen 5:55
2. "Even the Spirits are Afraid" Anneke van Giersbergen 5:13
3. "Broken Glass" Anneke van Giersbergen 4:59
4. "You Learn About It" Anneke van Giersbergen 5:09
5. "Souvenirs" Anneke van Giersbergen 6:07
6. "We Just Stopped Breathing" Zlaya Hadzich 6:52
7. "Monsters" Zlaya Hadzich 5:02
8. "Golden Grounds" Anneke van Giersbergen 4:53
9. "Jelena" Anneke van Giersbergen 6:10
10. "A Life All Mine" Trickster G., Anneke van Giersbergen 5:08
11. "Telson" (Bonus track) Anneke van Giersbergen 2:08