Joan Jett I Love Rock and Roll

  • Sale
  • Regular price $28.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

 Love Rock 'n Roll is the second studio album by Joan Jett and the first with her backing band The Blackhearts. Soon after the first recording sessions at Soundworks Studios, original Blackheart guitarist Eric Ambel was replaced by Ricky Byrd.[1] It is Jett's most commercially successful album to date with over 10 million copies sold,[1] largely due to the success of the title track, which was released as a single soon after the album was released.

Joan Jett saw "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" performed on TV by Arrows in 1976 and was taken away by the song.[2] It was a staple of her set list for years before the album was recorded.[2]

Along with the Arrows song, plenty of other covers populated the album: "Nag" (originally by The Halos),"Bits and Pieces" (The Dave Clark Five), "You're Too Possessive" (The Runaways), and "Crimson and Clover" (Tommy James & The Shondells). Of the last song, Jett later commented that "People worried that I didn't change the words in 'Crimson and Clover' to 'him' from 'her'. It was only because that wouldn't have rhymed."[2]

Other covers appeared in limited editions: "Louie Louie" (Richard Berry, later performed by The Kingsmen) and "Summertime Blues" (Eddie Cochran) were included as bonus tracks on the CD release, and the traditional Christmas carol "Little Drummer Boy" was a seasonal addition to the LP.

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" 2:55
2. "(I'm Gonna) Run Away" 2:28
3. "Love Is Pain" Jett 3:06
4. "Nag" Arthur Crier 2:43
5. "Crimson and Clover"
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
6. "Victim of Circumstance"
  • Jett
  • Laguna
7. "Bits and Pieces" 2:06
8. "Be Straight"
9. "You're Too Possessive" Jett 3:35
10. "Little Drummer Boy" 4:14
Total length: 30:02